Skip to content

Shaper on Mac

January 6, 2014

A new beta version of Shaper is available. This version is long overdue. Moving house and all the tasks around that have taken up a lot of time over the past few months.

The biggest change for this release is the introduction of a Mac version. Thanks to Qt‘s “write once compile anywhere” magic this was not a major issue. Throughout development I had periodically been making sure that everything was compiling and running on Mac. The main thing that was missing was an installer and some other bits and pieces. It is a bit rough, the icon for example could use some work. If you do try it out please let me know if you encounter any issues.

Another new feature is the addition of Torque import support. This is the first step towards Torque export support which was a feature of the original Shaper. At this point only basic meshes are supported. There is no support for animation. Support for Torque shall improve in the next releases.

Going forward I expect the time between releases to be smaller. I have no plans to move house again any time soon.

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. Ethan Merrill permalink

    I tried to run it, but it crashed once i opened it. I have Mac OS X Mavericks and I am running on a MacBook Pro. Does this require an older version of the OS? I really want to try the Torque Import, but I can’t open the application.

    • Hey Ethan, I just tried it myself on Mavericks and I encountered the same problem you did. I will get this fixed for the next version which will be out in a couple of weeks. You should be able to use it on older OS X versions but you are probably best off just waiting for me to release a fix. Thanks for reporting this.

  2. Matthew Rotherham permalink

    If I import a .dts model, the texture co-ordinates are flipped vertically. I have to open textures in PhotoShop and flip them vertically.

    • Thanks for reporting this. Fixed in the next release which I will do later this week.

      • Matthew Rotherham permalink

        Thanks for fixing this… saves a bit of hassle. What would be the icing on the cake, is if it were possible to import/export .dsq animations with .dts models. Any who… nice work.

  3. Excellent work! I love it so much.

  4. Ethan Merrill permalink

    Not sure if you are still updating this, but one file format that I have run into that I have never been able to convert into another format is the torque constructor .dif file format. If you ever get the chance it would be a great addition, along with a .dts export option.

Leave a Reply

