Skip to content

Shaper

September 10, 2013

The beta version of Shaper is officially available for download. This is actually a relaunch of an old product. That said there have been some major changes.

The changes are a result of me being a user, in addition to the developer, of Shaper. I am creating a 3D game. Creating 3D art using advanced tools is not one of my strengths. Instead I use Shaper to create basic art. Eventually I plan to use Shaper, and some basic programming skill, to create some very cool 3D art.

At this point Shaper can be used to create basic textured 3D models that can be exported to a variety of formats. You can create the model using voxels or more traditional tools. I tend to use voxels. There is also an experimental tool for procedurally generating trees. This tool needs a lot more love though.

Over the next few months, prior to version 1.0, I plan to do a bunch of things.

  • Release versions for Linux and Mac. I have developed Shaper using the cross-platform Qt library.
  • Make the SDK officially available. At this point all you can do is browse the documentation.
  • Add basic animation tools. I am still figuring out how the animation tools will apply to voxels.

Progress won’t be stopping at 1.0 though. There are a variety of items on my to-do list. For my own game I have a few procedural tools in mind. I plan to make it possible to script meshes. Stay tuned.

If you do decide to try it out I would love to hear your feedback.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

